Initial Steps

How to restore a MacBook

Follow these steps to prepare your device for reset

Create a backup

Make sure you have a current backup of your important files.

Find out how to back up your Mac.

Sign out of iTunes in macOS Mojave or earlier

If you’re using macOS Mojave or earlier, open iTunes. From the menu bar at the top of the screen or iTunes window, choose Account > Authorisations > Deauthorise This Computer.

Then enter your Apple ID and password and click Deauthorise.

Sign out of iCloud

If you’re using macOS Catalina or later, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Apple ID. Select Overview in the sidebar, then click Sign Out.

If you’re using macOS Mojave or earlier, choose Apple menu > System

Sign out of iMessage

If you’re using OS X Mountain Lion or later, open the Messages app, then choose Messages > Preferences from the menu bar. Click iMessage, then click Sign Out.

Reset NVRAM

If using a Mac with Apple silicon, you can skip this step.

Shut down your Mac, then turn it on and immediately press and hold these four keys together: Option, Command, P, and R. Release the keys after about 20 seconds. This clears user settings from memory and restores certain security features that might have been altered. Learn more about resetting NVRAM.

Unpair Bluetooth devices that you’re keeping.

To unpair a Bluetooth device, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Bluetooth. Move your pointer to the device that you want to unpair and click the remove (x) button next to the device name. Go to Preferences, click iCloud, then click Sign Out.

Erase All Data

Erase data on MacBooks

Use Disk Utility to erase all data

Start up from macOS Recovery by pressing and holding Command and R immediately after turning on your Mac. Hold until you see an Apple logo or other image.

If asked, select a user you know the password for and enter their administrator password.

From the utilities window, select Disk Utility and click Continue.

Select Macintosh HD in the sidebar of Disk Utility.

If you cannot see Macintosh HD, click the Erase button in the toolbar, then enter the requested details – Name: Macintosh HD, Format: APFS or Mac OS Extended (Journaled), as recommended by Disk Utility

Click Erase Volume Group. If you can’t see this button, click Erase

If asked, enter your Apple ID.

After the erase process has been completed, select any other internal volumes in Prior to Returning.

The sidebar, then click the delete volume (–) button in the toolbar to delete that volume. During this step, disregard any internal volume named Macintosh HD or Macintosh HD – Data, as well as any volumes in the External and Disk Images sections of the sidebar.

Quit Disk Utility to return to the utilities window.

If you want to start up again from the disk you’ve erased, select Reinstall macOS in the utilities window, then click Continue and follow the on-screen instructions to reinstall macOS.

iPads & iPhones

Prior to returning your assets they must be disconnected from your accounts ie: iCloud, Find my iPad, Google Accounts etc. Following are instructions on how to remove various account types to assistance you. If the equipment has been enrolled in any MDM programmes they must be unenrolled and all data must be erased prior to shipping back to HardSoft.

This process will make sure no data or photos remain on the phones. Failure to disconnect devices from accounts or MDM and switch off “Find my iPhone/iPad” will render them locked and unusable, resulting in HardSoft charging in full for the device.

how to switch off fine my iPad

How to switch off Find my iPad

From the Home Screen

Go to Settings > Your Account > Apple ID > iCloud > iTunes & App Store > Select iCloud > Find my iPad > Set Find my iPad to Off.

Confirm your Apple ID Password, and Click Turn Off. Return to the Home screen.

how to erase all content and settings on apple

How to erase all content and settings

From the Home Screen

Go to Settings > General > Reset (bottom of page) > Select Erase All Content and Settings > Erase Now > Select and Confirm Erase and confirm Erase again.

The iPad will be erased of all data and is now ready to be returned.

Book your collection
Contact us

Contact us to find out more about Devices for Teams.






    X
    CONTACT US