Prepare your Mac for return
Resetting your Mac in four simple steps
Whether you’re upgrading to a new device or just returning your old one, make sure to follow these steps for a smooth and hassle-free preparation.
Step 1 - Backup your data
It’s crucial to back up your data to avoid losing important information. You can back up your iPhone using iCloud or Apple’s Time Machine.
iCloud: Automatically backs up and syncs photos, videos, notes and more.
- Choose Apple menu > System Settings or choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Apple ID.
- Click iCloud.
- Under Apps Using iCloud, click to choose which apps you want to use with iCloud. If you can’t see an app, click Show More Apps to see the full list.
If you’d prefer to use local storage options, Apple’s Time Machine can help.
Step 2 - Sign out of iCloud and Apple ID
From the Home Screen
- Click the “Apple menu ” in the top-left corner of your screen.
- Select “System Settings” or “System Preferences” if you’re using macOS Monterey or earlier.
- Click “Apple ID” at the top of the sidebar.
- Scroll down and select “Sign Out”
- Click “Turn Off” to disable Find My Mac
Step 3 - Remove devices from Apple Business Manager
From the Home Screen
- Sign in as a user that has the role of Administrator or Device Enrolment Manager.
- Select “Devices” in the sidebar, search for a device in the search field, then select the device from the list.
- Carefully read the dialogue, check the box “I understand that this cannot be undone”, then select “Release“.
- Verify that the devices have been removed by searching for the devices in the search field at the top of the window.
Step 4 - Erase your data
Apple’s erase assistant is a simple tool for restoring your device back to factory settings.
- Click the “Apple menu ” in the top-left corner of your screen.
- Select “System Settings” or “System Preferences” if you’re using macOS Monterey or earlier.
- Click “General” in the sidebar.
- Click “Transfer or Reset” on the right.
- Click “Erase all content and settings”. The erase assistant will open.
- Follow the on-screen instructions to erase your Mac and restore it to factory settings.
Once confirmed, your Mac will restart briefly, then show a black screen or progress bar.
After restart, the setup assistant will automatically open, simply hold down the power button on your Mac until it turns off.
Prepare your Mac for return
Resetting your Mac in four simple steps
If you need any further assistance, be sure to get in touch with our tech experts.

